Street Photography: Time

December 18, 2013 § Leave a comment

“Time is the essence of all photography:  time that slips between one’s fingers, time that slips between the eyes, the time of things and the time of people, the time of the light and the time of the emotion . . . time that will never be the same again.”

I cut this quote out ages ago and do not know from whom or where it comes.  However, it became my first mantra.

Time and the seasonal movement of the earth around the sun, the moon around the earth and the light and darkness connected to that movement influences every moment of my street photography.

There is yet another reality of time that has become my mantra and that is what I call “standing on time.”  I started feeling it when I first walked in Paris ~~ seeing and feeling the layers of centuries all around me.  All the history and literature ~~ Balzac, Zola, Proust ~~ I could breathe it, feel it.  I was standing on time.  And the way I perceived was irrevocably changed.

“People like us who believe in physics know that the distinction between the past, the present and the future is only a stubbornly persistent illusion.”    Albert Einstein

 And with that, because this is a rushed time of year, I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!  See you in 2014!

Subscribe, ( if you are not already subscribed) to Brooklyn NY Photo Adventures RSS.

Book a street photography seminar at:  BrooklynNYPhotoAdventures.

Image

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Street Photography: Time at Brooklyn NY Photo Adventures.

meta

